27°FFairFull Forecast
Pro Football Weekly Updated Draft Guide

C-M’s Wilson, Baxter’s Wesselink earn all-district honors

Published: Wednesday, Nov. 29, 2017 9:52 a.m. CST

Two area volleyball players earned all-district honors recently from the Iowa Girls Coaches Association.

Colfax-Mingo senior Ries Wilson was honored in Class 2A, and Baxter senior Jordynn Wesselink was a 1A selection.

Wilson was picked in the 2A Central District, and Wesselink was selected to the 1A South Central District.

Both Wilson and Wesselink were the top hitters on their respective teams this season.

Wilson finished 13th in 2A with 388 kills but she also had 305 digs, 50 aces, 19 assists and 21 blocks.

She averaged 4.73 kills per set, which ranked fourth in 2A and also averaged 3.72 digs per set.

In serving, Wilson was 241-of-270 for 89.3 percent.

Wilson ended her impressive career with 1,250 kills, 1,002 digs and 175 aces. She led the Tigerhawks in kills in all four seasons and led in aces and digs in three of her four years.

Wesselink finished 2017 with a career-best 281 kills. She was tied for 10th in 1A with 69 aces, finished with 237 digs, tallied 13 blocks and dished out 14 assists.

Wesselink averaged 3.56 kills per set and three digs per set.

In serving, Wesselink was 293-of-338 for 86.7 percent.

Joining Wilson on the 2A Central all-district team are South Hamilton’s Anna Moss, Pella Christian’s Emma Huisman and Bekah Horstman, Woodward-Granger’s Julie Pitman and Ashley Gales, Van Meter’s Maggi Braun and Sofie Volk, BCLUW’s Easton Swanson, Des Moines Christian’s Ava Van Soelen and Fort Dodge St. Edmond’s Hannah Huss.

Joining Wesselink on the 1A South Central all-district team are former teammate Brianda Bane of Collins-Maxwell, Iowa Valley’s Cherisse Ward and Caleigh Smith, Grand View Christian’s Cheyenne and Sierra Wright, Lamoni’s Amarillo Reyes and Grace Martin, Southeast Warren’s Taylor Clendenen and Blaire Steenhoek and East Union’s Olivia Eckels.


National video